Western Australian Tornado State Titles 2014

The weather during the week leading up look a little sketchy but the day 1 breeze delivered a beautiful if not a little shifty 8 – 14 kt East wind. The Easterly wind blows off shore on the Owen Anchorage south of Fremantle and as with most of the Western Australian coast line becomes a little shifty but with great flat water.

The 8 Tornado's all were quite reasonably prepared coming to the end of our sailing season and with many updating equipment or repainting boats prior to the World titles later this year the scene was set for a competitive regatta . 12 races were scheduled with 3 back to back over morning and afternoon sessions on the 2 days.

To the start line and with 8 boats and although Bill Smith the PRO kept the line short there was always going to be enough space for everyone to get away reasonably clear and it was a great exercise in timing to hit the line in clear air with everyone up and running close to the gun on most occasions. Most races saw the fleet arriving close together at mark 1 after a full upwind. Gavin Colby , current Hobie 16 world champion , was back on a Tornado for his first regatta in many years and after a just a month of training with Pete Dubbelaar in his fully prepped and re painted boat ( ex Tom Phipps) with a new set of sails had good speed and was the best at picking the breeze. He was often able to come from behind after a 1 lap of the 2 lap 20 minute races to win 5 of the first 6 races. Another relatively new team of James Clark and Ben Taylor took it to Gavin for most of race 5 and race 6 leading for much of the 2 races and finishing with a second and a fourth ending the day well after a few issues in the morning saw them miss two races. The racing was very tight with as many as 6 of the 8 teams leading at some point. The afternoon races were held in a little less breeze bringing the boats even closer together on speed but spreading them out again with pressure differences down wind especially.

Paul Raymond sailing with Damien Mcalinden were consistent and Paul Peterson and Jared Eyles a little up and down but showing great speed at times. Ron Stokes and Nelson Clark have made great gains this season and their races were great often battling it out with Gavin Davies and Will Elks for the entire race up and down through the fleet but often together. Lachie Gibson and Josh Fugill back together and racing well for a few race wins with great pace when the wind was higher and a good hit out for the boat which hasn't sailed much over the last 5 years or so and is the process of a re fit. Brett Burvill and Ryan Duffield sailed together for the first time in 14 months and were a bit rusty sailing borrowed boat but ending up with a few victories and a puzzling speed problem up wind with inconsistent speed and heading form one tack to another. Monday afternoon the problem revealed itself when the mast was lowered and the 45mm side bend evident, oops. It looks like the diamond wires need replacing with a possible slipping swage. It is worth everyonechecking this as most masts are now 6 or more years old.

Day 2 winds were quite fresh and the wind from the east north east meant a lumpy sea and challenging conditions. As the day went on a few retirements meant that the last race was not started when all bar Paul and Jared headed for shore as places were decided and racing had gotten uncomfortable . The down wind speeds were amazing with a solid swell running almost square to the Stbd gybe angle but nicely across on the port offering amazing rides. Big thanks to the JBSC and their on water team for getting us away on time and allowing all 12 races to be sailed ( although we all piked on the last one)

Brett Burvill

2014 Wa Tornado States Resiults


2008 WA State Titles

The 2008 WA State Championships were held over two weekends with a different format to previous years.  This year the first weekend of sailing was held at Geographe Bay Yacht Club Friday 28th to 30th Nov.  Friday and Saturday conditions were perfect with the sutherly breeze giving competitors some interesting results and many took a few races to work out the local conditions. Sunday racing was cancelled due to lack of wind.  A total of five races completed.

The second weekend of sailing was held at Nedlands Yacht Club Sat 6th - Sun 7th Dec 2008.  Saturday's racing starting early at 08:30AM with the easterly coming in at a steady 10 knots but dying to a duck pond by midday.  We still managed to get in three races however the shifting breeze proved a challenge to all.  Brett Burvill and Ryan Duffield proved their superior teamwork and ability to read the shifty breeze to successfully finishing first in all eight races.  They nearly lost the final race on Saturday by only beating Paul Raymond and Paul May by 1 second.  Alan Gamble and Kym Nichols sailed consistentaly keeping pressure on Brett and Ryan to take second place with Paul Raymond and Paul May recovering from the first weekend of mishaps to sneek into 3rd place ahead of Paul Petersen.

Gwyn Cracknell and Peter Tognos were consistent throughout the series and were successful in taking out the Handicap trophy.

Overall Placings:

1. Windrush (B Burvill-R Duffield); 
2. Aeolus (A Gamble-K Nicholas); 
3. Die Hard (P Raymond-P May); 
4. Quantum Hop (P & P Peterson); 
5. Sony Marine (J Eyles-C Lithgo); 
6. AUS 251 (G Cracknell-P Tognos); 
7. Full Monty (R Stokes-R Garton); 
8. Mr Thingy (A Pocock-I Curphey); 
9. Bullet (S Goble-A Taylor); 
10. Sailbad the Sinner (P Gibb-E Neaves) 
11. Eric (B Harvey-D Feldman).

Handicap Results: 

1. AUS 251 (G Cracknell-P Tognos); 
2. Die Hard (P Raymond-P May); 
3. Windrush (B Burvill-R Duffield); 
4. Sony Marine (J Eyles-C Lithgo); 
5. Aeolus (A Gamble-K Nicholas); 
6. Quantum Hop (P & P Peterson); 
7. Mr Thingy (A Pocock-I Curphey); 
8. Full Monty (R Stokes-R Garton); 
9. Bullet (S Goble-A Taylor); 
10. Sailbad The Sinner (P Gibb-E Neaves); 
11. Eric (B Harvey-D Feldman).


2007 WA State Championships

held at Nedlands Yacht Club
26-28 Jan 2007


Boat Name Skipper/Crew Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Race 5 Race 6 Race 7 Race 8 Total 1 Drop Total Place
Aeolus A Gamble-P Raymond 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 11 2 9 1
Quantum Hop P Peterson-M Thackray 2 7 3 2 2 1 1 1 19 7 12 2
Bullet J Eyles-P May 7 2 2 7 7 3 4 3 35 7 28 3
Full Monty  R Stokes-S Gadsdon 7 7 7 7 3 7 3 4 45 7 38 4
Keeping It Real G Bowman-A Pocock 7 7 7 7 7 5 6 5 51 7 44 5
Eric Oter B Harvey-G Jackson 7 7 7 7 7 7 5 6 53 7 46 6

2006 WA State Titles


CraftName Skipper Crew1 Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
AUS288 David Beeby Luke Myalls 25 3 1 1 1 7 5 2 2 3
AUS253 Damien Ford Julia Nathanson 29 1 2 3 5 2 8 3 4 1
Aeolus Allan Gamble Paul Raymond 35 2 3 6 4 3 3 6 6 2
Quantum Hop Paul Peterson Matt Thackray 36 4 4 2 13 6 1 1 1 4
AUS319 Peter Gibb Gareth Jackson 47 7 7 9 3 1 2 9 3 6
Magic Too Ron Stokes Nathan Wrock 56 5 5 5 6 5 7 5 10 8
AUS251 Gwyn Cracknell Peter Togno 65 13 6 8 7 4 4 7 9 7
AUS293 Christopher Batenburg Grant Rau 68 6 8 4 2 9 11 8 7 13
Bullet Jarad Eyles Paul May 86 8 9 7 8 8 9 11 13 13
Daring Andy Griffin Gordon Bowman 91 13 13 13 13 13 6 10 5 5
Time Gerard Wilson Ross Wilson 96 13 13 13 9 13 10 4 8 13
Eric Oter Ben Harvey Tom Serna 117 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13